Posted by: sarahmeyers | May 23, 2007

Makers Fair

Yours truley and Andrew

That’s Drew and I at the Yahoo! booth. You take a polaroid and scan it into a Sharp photo copier that will upload it to Flickr. There is a type key pad displayed on the large touch screen that lets you type in the appropriate tags. For some reason they guy who was entering the tags tagged this photo “sarahmeyersandrewbaron” on Flickr. That’s the worst tag I’ve ever seen. I think it’s kind of ironic that the person working for Flickr messed up on the tags.

I was able to see Jimmy Kimmel Live, the Mentos-Diet Coke dudes from Eepybird, fighting knights, electric powered sports bikes, Star Wars Replicas, Lego robots, Flaming Lotus Girls fire throwing, and Steve Wozniak (Woz). The New York Times was there covering the event as were some other bloggers such as Robert Scoble, Thomas Hawk, and Phil Torrone.

Drew and I put together close to 100 video clip casts of the event and are hosting them on Rocketboom. My personal favorite video is the Drunk Tender because it lets you pour Coke and Bacardi with an RFID chip sensor swipe and click. The makers were at the Microsoft booth. I like how the clip opens.

“I’m here at the Microsoft booth. The idea is were kinda lazy and we don’t like to make our own drinks.”

I was in a makers play ground and loved it! The best part was posting all the videos.


Responses

  1. I don’t believe the folks running the Sharp photocopier/scanner were Flickr or Yahoo! staff, but it’s possible they might have decided to use only single-word tags for the event.

  2. I was there when they typed it in. The assistant used spaces, but he didn’t use commas. lol. Perhaps he was not staff, but then again you never know.

  3. sweetass gig!

  4. I liked a theme of your site!

  5. Too it is pleasant to me how the clip opens!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

