Posted by: sarahmeyers | June 25, 2007

Homebrew v.s. SHDH

iWoz

“Everyone in the Homebrew Computer Club envisioned computers as a benefit to humanity- a tool that would lead to social justice.” Said Steve Wozniak, aka Woz, in his book iWoz. When he was part of the Homebrew Computer Club in 1975 he started designing the computer that would later be known as the Apple I. Woz is my role model because he had an idea, did what he wanted and never sold out. After reading the book and getting to know the author- through his book and in real life- I started to think differently about myself.

I first met Woz at the Herbst Theater in San Francisco when he was giving a book signing and interview. I waited in a long line to get to the front so that I could video tape a short interview and get him to sign my book. I remember the anticipation and excitement I felt right before I met him. I didn’t prepare what I was going to ask him before hand, but the anticipation kept me smiling while I waited. Finally I was able to meet him and he asked me if I wanted him to write a personal message. I said “you can write: keep trying to be a good reporter.” He looked at me, raised his eyebrows and replied, “I will write: be a great reporter.” That’s right. Say what you are going to do and do it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

