Posted by: sarahmeyers | January 24, 2008

PopSnap TV: Richard Branson and Virgin Galactic Unveiled

Heading over to the Natural History Museum in Manhattan last night proves my favorite aphorism that “a stitch in time saves nine.” Last night Richard Branson was the calm to my proverbial storm when he was happy to gave me an interview for PopSnap. I’m covering the launch of SpaceShipTwo because I have always been fascinated with Space travel and dreamed of going into space. Branson tells me that some day, very soon, I will be able to fly into outer space for the price of going to Europe. I didn’t believe Virgin Galactic until he said this to me. For the first time, last night, it hit me that I will make this happen. I will go into outerspace!

Others there were fascinated with the technology yet contemplative of the possibilities. Sarah Shaw from Alston+Bird says, “I’m sold. I’m terrified of space and I would go” at the 1:00 mark. You guys have to tell me if you are going to go!

I like the part of the video where I get kicked out by the museum security. It’s funny because the security guards could not have picked a more perfect time to boot me. It was right after the Richard Branson interview. They approached me after a couple radio exchanges. In the video I say, “…you know what? I don’t care if I get kicked out because all I care about it getting some good content.” Everyone was enthusiastic in the video and overjoyed by the possibilities of the SpaceShipTwo. Branson’s passion and pride for the SpaceShipTwo is evident in how he talks; it’s exhilarating to watch.


Responses

  1. How do we buy tickets?

    If you get a pair of the first tickets on Virgin Galactic will you raffle one off on your blog?

  2. Amazing you pulled that off.

  3. I desperately want to go to space. Even if it would be really expensive, I would do it. Hopefully it would be as safe as airplanes. Did anyone mention safety last night?

  4. They kicked you out? Lol!

  5. 🙂

  6. lol.🙂

    @Jacob1915, I didn’t get much information on safety besides the fact that people will do some training for the trip. There is no doubt about the risk, but I will take it.

  7. Sarah great interview. Richard said at the beginning “you should go up” referring to the presentation I think, too bad you couldn’t get him to let you in at that point.

    As indicated my alter ego “spaceguy” I hope to grow up and be a real spaceguy some day. Maybe the Blue Fairy will make my wish come true!

    I like Mr. Branson, he seems a down to earth kinda guy, compared to many other billionaires that we have.

  8. Dammit, the first I hear about the bloggies this year is the finalists are up for voting now… I wish I’d known when we were supposed to *nominate*…

  9. Way to go Sarah, too bad you got kicked out!

  10. @techman thanks and I didnt mind.

    @Matt Moran so nice of you to think of me.

  11. What part of space travel do you like the most?

    I love the imagery: http://antwrp.gsfc.nasa.gov/apod/ap080123.html

    but being the *pilot* is the most fun for me: http://orbit.medphys.ucl.ac.uk/ (There *is* a model for White Night 1/Space Ship 1 but not Space Ship2 yet.)

    Dangerous? Big time, but I’m ok with it. “Anything you forget to bring with you will kill you. Anything you do bring with you that doesn’t work properly will kill you. When in doubt, assume it’s going to kill you.”

  12. Well, tbh PopSnap & this blog between them have become 2 of my favourites this month. Engadget, Gizmodo etc are ok but I find they swamp my RSS reader with too much material & I end up skim-reading them just to get back to a clear RSS reader. I think I prefer more personal blogs, like here, 43Folders, Matt’s Idea Blog, Tim Ferriss’ blog, WWdN: In Exile & Scobleizer. One thing they all have in common is that they don’t have dozens & dozens of little posts all day, just maybe 2 or 3 at most, and those 2 or 3 are worth reading or watching. Let Twitter handle all the teeny-tiny factoid type posts.🙂

  13. Wonder if Branson knows that in 1950 the Hayden Planetarium took spaceflight reservations? They promised to save names and addresses and turn them over to the appropriate outfit ready for space tourism. Some 35,000 people signed up at the Planetarium and even more entries came as a result of coupons printed in Signet paperback books.


Leave a Reply

Categories

