Posted by: sarahmeyers | July 28, 2007

Tech Crunch 9 At August Capital

Last night I attended and filmed the Tech Crunch 9 party at August Capital on Sand Hill Road. One year has gone by since I snuck into the party last year and got booted.

In the comments section of the Tech Crunch blog there was a conversation between Mike Arrington and I about how he would put my name on the guest list the following year. Tech Crunch put me on the list and my video services on Mike’s dime.

Last year, the heightened security at August Capitol made sure I was expelled when they told me “if you don’t leave we are going to call the police.” My favorite part of the video is when I met with the other Sand Hill Road party crashers around the half way mark.

Looking at the video I laugh at the irony of this year’s video. How my production skills have improved! LOL! I only wish I was able to run into the woman from last year and thank her for kicking me out. Little does she know that by her kicking me out she did me a huge favor by practically making my career.

If that video had not been successful I probably wouldn’t have crashed other tech parties and to tell you the truth, if I had not broken into the party crashing business I may have never achieved my dream goals in tech, for example working for Gizmodo.

I have to admit, it was more fun being kicked out.


Responses

  1. The start out is always tough but when the going gets tough, the tough get going. You have created a niche in the tech business by crashing tech parties and have created a lot of attention towards your vision, lots of people now share your vision. It was tough at first but you really have moved forward and hopefully much more positive things will occur for you Sarah.

    Acro.

  2. Hello! What a blog!

  3. Your blog is cool.

  4. That was pretty cool Sarah, wish I could’ve gone to TechCrunch’s party!

  5. hey sarah… really like your interviews, they were really informative and you’ve such a great presence in front of the camera!! keep up the good work, take care, rath.

  6. my goodness not only has your production skills improved, you looked so young then.

  7. Hey Sarah, I just watched your interviews and I also just got done watching the iCaught thing on abcnews. Congratulations on that. I think it’s also noteworthy that you were just talking about the “Thriller” prison video and it was on the same video that Optimus Prime was on. Talk about free advertising. Great work with everything and you can definately see improvements over since last year. Take care, Steve

  8. […] CenterNetworks Jeremiah Owyang Jessica Mah Dean Takahashi Adaptive Blue Scott Beale Sarah Meyers […]

  9. […] CenterNetworks Jeremiah Owyang Jessica Mah Dean Takahashi Adaptive Blue Scott Beale Sarah Meyers […]

  10. […] CenterNetworks Jeremiah Owyang Jessica Mah Dean Takahashi Adaptive Blue Scott Beale Sarah Meyers […]

  11. […] CenterNetworks Jeremiah Owyang Jessica Mah Dean Takahashi Adaptive Blue Scott Beale Sarah Meyers […]

  12. […] Meyers (finally on the guest list this time!) floated around the TechCrunch party at August Capital interviewing as many techies about their products as possible. The result is an interesting series of clips, […]

  13. […] CenterNetworks Jeremiah Owyang Jessica Mah Dean Takahashi Adaptive Blue Scott Beale Sarah Meyers […]

  14. […] Tech Crunch 9 At August Capital [Viddler] Last night I attended and filmed the Tech Crunch 9 party at August Capitol on Sand Hill Road. One year has […] […]

  15. […] a difference a year makes!  Sarah Myers got thrown out last year as party-crasher; this year she was officially invited (hey I like the new […]

  16. Hey Sarah, great job with the video!

  17. Thanks!

  18. Sarah, your techcrunch videos were interesting and entertaining. I liked how the editorial mood trended this way and that, now it’s depressing, now it’s hilarious, now it’s credible.

  19. the first video isn’t working


Leave a comment

Categories