Posted by: sarahaustin | September 12, 2008

Me At Parsons

It’s been a long time since I have had so much help learning. With all the production, business and travel I do with Pop17 it’s been a long ride of output and creativity. Writing scripts, location shoots, equipment maintenance, public relations and marketing, sales, presentation and blogging require a great deal work. I have been constantly delivering and pumping out videos that it starts to feel unbalanced. This is my first week at Parsons and there has already been a major change in pace.

My classes this semester will help make Pop17 better because the quality of my internet output will be more refined and focused toward technology and design. The classes I’m currently enrolled in teach me about blogging, design, history of art and technology, graphic design and story-boarding for the moving image. My teachers are great and the students appear to be really talented. I’ll be blogging about what I learn along the way and I’m sure you will see an improvement with my videos as I continue to learn and be turned on to new things. I could not be more appreciative of this new opportunity at Parsons.

I’m having the time of my life.


Responses

  1. Hey Sarah,
    Sounds like you are doing a similar course to me. I start my second year this September.

    I blog as part of my college course too. Most of my college stuff goes here

    http://www.lukeb3000.blogspot.com

    and a little goes here

    http://www.lukeb3000.tumblr.com

    I hope we can share ideas and help each other out as we go along

    I look forward to reading more updates of what you are doing and how you are getting along

    Feel free to drop me some comments on my college blogs any time

    Look forward to hearing from you

    -lukeb3000 🙂

  2. Hey Luke,

    I did try to comment on your blog one time a while ago. The thing is, I really just like wordpress comments because that is where my blog is. However, you do have a tumblr account and I follow you there! Any time you post something related to internet fame ping me and I’ll probably reblog it to pop17.com.

    I look forward to learning from you guys and in school. This way we can share what we learn to learn better. 🙂

  3. I am glad your first week went well! I am looking forward to hearing about what you’re learning and how it will help your ventures!

    Also, big fan of the locker pics – I kind of forgot about lockers! 🙂

  4. hey thanks for the reply

    sorry you wasn’t able to comment on my blog 😥 (I suspect you mean my blogger account?) It should be open for any one to comment, but I will look into it.

    I have installed disqus comments on my tumblr so you should be able to comment there. I may even look into installing them on my blogger if it makes it easier for people to leave me comments

    Thanks Sarah

    Speak to you again soon

    -lukeb3000 🙂

  5. Hi Sarah
    I can relate to what you wrote in your post. I think it is essential to emphasize your strengths, and to do so we need to learn (or at least see) new things on a continuous basis. School is great, and if there is no time for school, books and a simple get-together with like-minded professionals can widen your horizon as well.
    I enjoy reading your blog.
    Greetings from Switzerland
    sebi

  6. Hey,

    Sounds like cool courses, as an alum of Pratt Institute, I always remember Parsons as the competition (friendly). Feel a bit old as the internet was starting as I graduated. Like your Rocketboom interviews.

    Tony

  7. Just out of curiosity, how are you paying for college? Thanks and good luck.
    -T

  8. I’m saving money for college by living in a cheaper apartment in New York City and living with roommates. I try not to spend too much on food and work really hard.

  9. Who are you going to vote for? Can we get an endorsement or what?
    Steady Hand At The Tiller

  10. http://www.steadyhandatthetiller.com
    In case that didn’t come through.

  11. Hi Sara, sorry if i write bad in English, but I’m Spanish. I’m writing you from Canary Island in Spain. Do yo know them?

    Sometimes, when i can, i watch you in Pop17 in Mogulus, and you’re great, i don’t understand anything because it’s in english, but i have a great time jeje.

    I hope to read you soon.

    Ivan from Spain.

  12. Oh now i can understand why you are living there, and no in the other place, but the food is essential and must be a priority, cause no food=no work the body, seriously Sarah, is only a piece of advice, be well linda!


Leave a comment

Categories